Who are caribbean countries?

Current Caribbean countries and territories Edit; Cuba, independent; Curaçao · Kingdom of the Netherlands; Dominica, independent; Dominican Republic. Definition · Countries and territories of. The World Bank Group works in all major areas of development. We offer a wide range of financial products and technical assistance, and we help countries share and apply innovative knowledge and solutions to the challenges they face.

We face major challenges in helping the world's poorest people and ensuring that everyone sees the benefits of economic growth. Data and research help us understand these challenges and set priorities, share knowledge about what works and measure progress. At the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic, the World Bank worked with Caribbean countries to quickly mobilize funding for the response to health, social protection and food security crises, using a variety of funding instruments. The next phase of support focuses on ecological, inclusive and resilient recovery measures, including strengthening social protection, reactivating economic activity, facilitating small and medium-sized enterprises, adapting to climate change, financial protection from disasters, improving debt management and improving fiscal sustainability.

The program assisted by the World Bank remains anchored in support for the creation of cross-cutting resilience and the adaptation and mitigation of climate change, with technical assistance and investments in human capital development, fiscal sustainability, digital transformation, financial protection and disaster risk management, agriculture, renewable energy and the blue economy. Details on the World Bank's support to the Caribbean during the COVID-19 crisis are available in this fact sheet. Harnessing marine resources while preserving the Caribbean Sea can help countries address key challenges such as high unemployment, low growth, food security, poverty and resilience to climate change. The World Bank Group is working with Caribbean governments and regional partners to help Caribbean countries better manage public spending and reduce their debts to sustainable levels, while protecting poor and vulnerable populations.

The GBM has worked with regional partners to help Caribbean countries facilitate private sector reforms and trade, while supporting employment and protecting poor and vulnerable populations. Quality education, affordable health care and equitable social safety nets are key ingredients for building inclusive societies. In the Caribbean, several countries have launched innovative initiatives to provide the most vulnerable, including children, with the knowledge, skills and health they need to excel. Find out what Bank Group branches in the Caribbean are doing.

Learn about our work in the Caribbean Report, which calls for urgent measures to address marine pollution, a growing threat to the Caribbean Sea. The Caribbean has about 700 Caribbean islands, but only 28 of them are considered sovereign states and dependent territories. The Caribbean (also known as the West Indies) is a region of the Americas that consists of the Caribbean Sea, its islands, and the surrounding coasts. The region is located in southeastern North America, east of Central America and northwest of South America.

The Caribbean islands are divided into three main island groups: the Bahamas, the Greater Antilles and the Lesser Antilles. Largely located on the Caribbean Plate, the area comprises more than seven thousand islands, islets, reefs and cays. Geopolitically, the West Indies are generally considered a subregion of North America and are organized into 28 territories that include sovereign states, overseas departments, and dependencies. .

Leave Message

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *